The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Our society is becoming increasingly more open and complexed. With the great advancement of technology, the cooperation of people from different parts of the world and different fields are becoming more and more common. A sense of cooperation will be highly pursued. Therefore, it totally makes sense that the prompt says the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. While cooperation is important, a sense of competition is also needed for a leader.

Our world is becoming increasingly integrated and complexed. The scale of people of different origins to work together has reached an unprecedented level. This requires a leader that has a strong sense of cooperation, can work with different people and know how to make out of the most of people that work together. If a leader fails to have a strong sense of cooperation, a project will not be able to fully take advantage of the talents that are available and thus the team will not be able to reach the potential it should be able to reach.

In addition, the overwhelming numbers of projects that need the cooperation of different fields also have been never been seen before. In order to be the leader for a project that requires the cooperation of different fields, the leader must be able to work together with people with different sets of skills and knowledge.

However, in this increasingly competitive world, a leader's strong sense of competition should not be ignored. Surely cooperation is the key to success, healthy competition helps in getting the most of the potential of people working in a project and may enable the team to reach a level that no one expected. Steve Jobs is famous in pushing his employees very hard to the level that makes them feel uncomfortable, but his competitive nature makes his company excels in tough competitions.

In summary, a good leader certainly needs a great sense of cooperation, being able to unite more people together itself is one of the most important value a leader should have in this increasingly integrated world. However, a strong sense of competition is also needed for a good leader and a leader with both strong senses of cooperation and competition will be lead people to a promising future.