The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition.

Young people are the future of any society. They grow up to supplant the important positions in various sectors including government, academia and industry. For any society to have good quality leaders, the young people should be instilled with qualities which would aid them in this process. In modern times, cooperation is one such quality which is required in various levels in government and industry because both them comprises of workforce from variety of backgrounds and diversity and have various departments. Providing this quality of cooperation to young people at a young age can prove providential.

In any government organisation, there are many departments which need to work in resonance in order to ensure smooth runnning of governmental operations. To exemplify, the Indian government has several ministeries who need to work in sync with each other. The railway department needs to cooperate with finance ministry for fund allocation. The defence ministry needs to cooperate with Science and Technology ministry for bringing in new technology to the military. The leaders of these departments should have collabarative approach rather than a competetive approach in order to solve the challenging problems occuring in the department. Therefore, preparing the young people for these positions should include imbibing a sense of cooperation in them.

Further, not only in government organisations but any industrial organisation also consists of various departments for smooth operations. For example, any company operating in selling of a particular product in general has an R&D department, the sales and marketing department, the advertisement department, the HR department. The collective effort of these deparments leads to a successful functioning of the company. A leader of the company or even the leader of one particular department of the company needs to have the attitude of cooperating with the other divisions, which will otherwise prove bad for the company's functioning.

Although the sense of cooperation is important at various stages of operations in government and industry, a healthy competition can be beneficial as well. For example, a competetion of various municipalities for the award of cleanest city could only prove to have positive effects on cities' cleanliness. Industries of the same sector need to compete with each for market share. This inspires companies to launch better products and apply better marketing strategies. In these cases, a sense of competition is necessaary for performing better and making a positive impact on the society.

Cooperation is a necessary element of smooth function of various departments in various industrial and governmental organisations. Imparting a sense of cooperation to young leader will prepare them for the leadership positions in these organisations. But, a healthy competition is also an important component of functioning of these organisation. Thus, while being cooperative in their efforts, young leaders should be trained to participate in healthy competition in order to make a positive impact on the society.