The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Young minds are very impressionable and could pick up and adhered to it very adamantly hence we should make sure that they are inculcating habits that will help them grow. while maintaining a healthy competition is very desirable for growth at individual and team level but at the same time they should make sure they are helping or cooperating to their peers or colleague so that they grow as a team as well if they are in a team

Just like "necessity is root of all invention", competition is the motivation some might need in their development. for example, let us say there are two students X and Y, X wrote a paper on the thesis he is doing, for any competitive person, this acts as driving factor and helps in performing better relatively. as long as competition is healthy it can prove a big driving factor.

For leadership in any sector, the team leader has to be a team player and he can be a team player only if he was co-operating with his team members in past, dissension among team members will never help in making any progress towards the goal, for example, if the members are unhealthy competing among themselves, they won't get any work done, as everyone will be working on pulling each other down. for example, I was working in an ad industry and we were working on developing a product for ads delivery on an ad request call from publishers, so if developers have to work together instead of opposite to each other but at the time they can engage in a few healthy competitions like which programming language to be used for product development, they can build small components in various languages and see which is working better

As I gave an example of how competition can act as a motivation factor any individual and can help him grow but the same individual can crumble under the competition as well, that is when he can take help from his colleague, friends, parents, or even any professional to keep in check

Competition can act as a big motivation factor for any individual but at the time he or she should make sure they don't crumble under the pressure of it and keeps everything in check.and for overall growth at the individual level as well team must, leadership must inculcate the thought of "healthy competition along with co-operation"