"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are differing schools of thoughts on the best way for a society to prepare its youth for leadership in various areas including and not limited to government and industry. Some are of the viewpoint that instilling a sense of cooperation is the way to go while reducing emphasis on competition. I strongly disagree with this perspective and believe a society should prepare its young people for leadership by instilling a sense of competition in them for the following reasons.

Firstly, heightened competition amongst the youngsters in a society will invariably lead to the development of that society. The more competition is encouraged from high school to college and to the industry, academia and government, the more the chances of a society expediting its accretion. For instance, the building of the atomic bomb by Oppenheimer and his crew led to an unexpected but propitious ending of the Second World War. This task, undertaken by the Manhattan Project was one of many projects pushed by the American government amongst its younger population to seek a faster end to the war which was ravaging the world at the time. Various teams were exploring diverse initiatives simultaneously while working assiduously to meet the deadline put in place by the government and the competition in all these efforts led to Oppenheimer's team reaching their target faster and putting an end to the terrible war. While there was indeed a good amount of cooperation in arriving at this goal, it was successful mainly because of the competition the various teams faced and their eagerness to meet the government's deadline.

Furthermore, competition often leads to the domination of a given society in various industries around the world. The more competition is encouraged in young people, the more they will go on to establish mammoth companies that will not only dominate in their home country but also all around the world. For example, technology companies like Google, Facebook, Microsoft, Apple, Yahoo! are the leaders in their various industries around the world with youthful CEOs. It is common knowledge that Google's search and Microsoft's bing competed for years for the internet "search" market and while Google may have won the fight for a larger chunk of the market worldwide, Microsoft is not relenting and still and keeps pushing updates that may drive more consumers towards their product. Apple, Google and Microsoft also competed for years to lead the supply of portable mobile phones around America and the world, the result of this is that Apple's iPhone is the most popular phone in the world today. These are just few of the many ways in which competition among young people in their society has led to leadership in their various industries.

Indeed, while there are some elements of truth in the view that competition is a beneficial way to prepare young people for leadership, a limitation of this perspective is that it may well lead to complacency. Imagine an environment whereby young people, instead of competition against each other only work with each other, this will lead to a state of co-dependency in each other since there is always someone else to cover one's back.

In conclusion, a society should prepare its young people for future leadership positions and success by encouraging them to compete with each other since this will ultimately lead to the development of the society in times of troubles and the donimation of its companies in various industries around the world. An emphasis on cooperation may not lead such favourable fruits.