The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The mind of a child is malleable as that is when they can be thought various values of life that will or will not stick with them for the entirety of their lives. For this reason, I strongly disagree with the prompt that says that young students should be thought a sense of cooperation instead of a sense of competition and there three reasons behind my resolution against the prompt that will be delineated in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, competiton breeds innovation. When young people are imbibed with the culture of competition, that sense of competition tends to bring out the innovative side in them. For instance, various phone brand companies such as Huawei and Samsung are run by people with the spirit of competition. This spirit of competition makes them think of various ways they can outdo their previous designs and the competiting company which in turn is a benefit to us the consumers. If there was just one phone brand with lots of people cooperating together to bring new products, we will not have been able to do all the things the smart phone can do today because of the complacency that will come along with it. Therefore, as a result of competiton, people in various brands are thinking of new, innovative ways to outdo their competitors and consequently, that is a good thing for us at the bottom of the production chain as we get to enjoy the benefits of the competition.

Secondly, competition yields hardwork. When people are in a competition for a prize, there is tendency for the such people to put even more work than they would have had they been just put side by side to work together to achieve a common goal. For instance, in a project where students are asked to do a research on a topic, and the person with the most detailed and analytical research gets to win a prize while the person with the most perfunctory work gets a penalty, this sort of competition will yield hardwork as every sane person wants to be rewarded and not penalized. If such students were just put in groups without any form of competition, the results brought by such students may be a cursory one since there was no motivation for doing it.

Also, some people may argue that cooperation fosters teamwork. This is a definitely a good thing as being able to work in a team can be said to be vital in todays world but who is to say that competition does not foster teamwork? Competition can foster teamwork if people were put in groups to work together to compete against other people working together in other groups.

In conclusion, there is a need for competition to be instilled in young people as there are more pros to competition than only cooperation in young people.