The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A society is built on the strength and diversity of the people that it constitutes of. In so doing it is able to draw upon different forms of creativities and ideas to grow and accomplish outstanding endeavours. The best way for a society to prepare its young is imbibing in them a sense of togetherness and cooperation. I strongly support this motion that cooperation and not competition is the best approach to prepare the young people in a society for leadership in government, industry and other fields of life as outlined with the following two reasons.

Firstly, going by the definition of what leadership stands for and what a leader should represent, chiefly amongst it is the ability to bring together people of different ideaology, opinions and backgrounds to achieve set goals. For an individual to do this he or she must have as one of its strengths and characteristics a deep sense of cooperation, which allows the indiviual in a leadership position to accomodate different class of people irrespective of their background. A good example of this plays out in a country like United States of America which boasts of a wide range of diversity. A notable characteristics of all its past successful leadership in terms of its president is their ability to find a common ground in the face of conflicts thereby hearing out each side of the defence and finding solutions to arcane issues.

Secondly, life is not always about competition as it breeds strife and resentment among people. Instilling in young people a sense of competion will only lead to depression in the face of defeats, making them feel that they cannot amount to anything and in so doing they no longer look ahead to what the future holds for them as they are deeply fixtaed on the present. A deep sense of cooperation leads to accepting each other strengths and weaknesses and thereby helping each other out and achieving valuable goals.

Some people with different views might say competition sometimes brings the best in people and as a result outstanding individuals are being separated from the rest. This for me does not apply to leadership as it looks at individual qualities and not the ability to bring people together and bring about result. As the saying goes if you want to go fast go alone but if you want to go far go with other people because there are strength in numbers and this can only be achived through a deep seated sense of cooperation and togertherness as instilled from a young age in an individual.