The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, and not competition.

The youth of a society are its future. There is a stupendous amount of energy in the youth that can be channelled to various aspects of life such as military, science, industry and government. When a large section of the youth of a particular society are not ready for leadership roles in these aspects of life, such a society risk being colonised by an external power.

Granted, leadership demands many desirable characteristics such as honesty, empathy, personal sense of responsibility (PSR), willingness to sacrifice for others, competitive mind and cooperation. These characteristics are demanded at varying degrees in diffeerent circumstances.

For example, scientist collaborate in order to complete a research work. In fact, the quality of a research paper is usually determined by its interdisciplinary approach. In such a scenerio, it will be inappropriate to compete with other member of the research team. Many reputable journals such as nature always require that collaborating scientist declare no conflict of interest. If that happens, such a work may not be published and the society may lose the opportuinity of reaping from the results of such a research work. Thus a sense of cooperation is required to lead in the scenerio described above.

Furthermore, leadership demands a competitive mind when there is a need to execute a task as soon as possible. For example, there are numerous science competitions that are organised to identify the best minds in a society. In such a scenerio, the society is instilling a competitive mind in its youth in order to force them to think at a cerebral level and provide solutions or answers to the most difficult problems in the society.

Thus, in conlusion, it is wrong to assert that the sense of cooperation is the best method of preparing the youth of a society for leadership in different walks of life. Leadership demands all forms of desirable characteristics which include a sense of cooperation and a competitive mind where appropriate.