the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

I absolutely believe that the best way for a society to train young people for leadership is not only by inculcating them in a sense of cooperation, but also competition.

Cooperation is a great way of developing the abilities of the novices to communicate with different teams. It has been so vital that nothing could be done without cooperation. For example, in a typical car manufacturing plant, the workers have to work together to complete a car assembly. The designers make the prototypes of the cars, and the workers implement accordingly and then the machine operators execute the assemble instructions to complete the procedure of the manufacture. Thus, these coordination or cooperation has been so crucial in today’s society.

Additionally, competition is inevitable in today’s society, by competition, we could clearly see their strength in these candidates, only the strongest with leading capability could be selected, and it not only convinces of other people, but also a positive stimulus for those who would like to climb up in the company hierarchy. For example, the current leader of TSMC (Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Cooperation), Mr. Liu, is also promoted from the competition among many departments, because of his outstanding performance and leadership during his high level manager period. And that’s why TSMC has dominated the semiconductor manufacturing position and continued winning the biggest pie of the market, even the leadership transferring from Morris to Liu.

Opponents may argue that competition induces a lot of political cultures which makes people to avoid responsibilities upon the failure of project or of task. They are likely to have negative competition under table and bickering may be harmful to the enterprise. Even though under table competition is inevitable in the process of the competition, it still could be considered positively. Because the competition of the society or business is crucial and young people eventually have to ideal with the realities, and the competition is exactly the best way to train them to become more mature for the future leadership in the company. Moreover, the leadership is indispensable to have the ability so as to handle the treacherous business negotiation. For example, in Taiwan, there are many IT(intellectual technology) companies in the competition and some of them are trying steal the opponents’ engineers for the advanced technologies. While the internal competition within a company is basically not making a mistake reviled by others and make great contribution to the enterprise in the meanwhile. Therefore, comparing the toughness to run business as a leadership, the competition of internal company is quite moderate and it’s a great opportunity for young people to gain the capability and develop their career.

In conclusion, not only the competition, but also the cooperation could nourish young people and let them develop their strength for the future leadership based on the factors and examples mentioned above.