The argument concentrates on improving one of the most important soft skill: leadership. It states that instilling a sense of cooperation will prepare leaders in a much better way than competition. However, the argument has it's own pros and cons.

Inculcating cooperation among young minds is quite essential. Knowing how to cooperate with each other is what makes a successful leader. Consider team sports, where every player has a crucial role which contributes towards winning of the team. If any of the player does not perform, it affects the performance of whole team. In my school, our basketball team was one of the best in whole region because of the understanding and coordination we all shared. Every member motivated other to perform better. Even if one person from our team had been indifferent, it would have led to downfall of everyone.

What defines a great leader is how he or she makes his whole team to follow and cooperate with each other. Leader plays a very important role in maintaining harmony in the team. Leaders in government, industry and other fields usually have to meet a lot of people, and knowing how to cooperate with them is important for a successful leader. For example, a successful leader in government should be able to organize people in different departments. He has to cooperate efficiently with the people he leads. In business, a leader must cooperate with employees to have a successful corporation. This requires a strong sense of cooperation, so a society should prepare its young people by instilling this quality in them.

On the other hand, it should also be considered that competition is what makes people perform and outshine. It definitely brings out leadership qualities among them. Some have it naturally and some of them develop it through different situations. I remember in my childhood, my father always encouraged a healthy competition by motivating me to perform better whether in sports, academics or any other co-curricular activity. This developed leadership qualities in me in a much better way. Through competition only I realized there were leadership qualities instilled in me and I worked towards polishing them further.

We should recognize that both are important in our society. For example, although there exists fierce competition between different companies, they often have to cooperate with each other. A company may compete with another company in a kind of product, but they may have other areas in which they work together. A company providing searching service may be working together with a company providing safety software, such as sharing some algorithms or some data. However, they may have minor competition on advertising on another service. This illustrates that cooperation is also important in this society and we should instill in our youth a sense of both.

Therefore, a conclusion can be drawn that building a sense of cooperation is important for creating better leaders but a healthy competition should not be avoided. In fact, it should be encouraged. Only one cannot be chosen as both play a crucial role in development of great leaders.