The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Humans can play a decisive role in mitigating climate crisis. Due to the constant need for packaged consumer products, there has been a exponential increase in the amount of waste generated by households on an average. The prompt recommends that in order to solve this issue, there is a need to impose strict limits on the amount of trash that has to be accepted from each household. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that such rules should be enforced in towns and cities because of the following two reasons.

To begin, with the rise in household incomes and the increase in standards of living, more and more consumer products started flying off the shelfs. All these products come in extensive packaging and most of them need to be discarded after 2-3 months of use. For example, consider the case of daily hygeine products like soaps, wipes, toothbrushes and many more. All of these products require a lot of packaging, and also go directly to the bin after a single use. This leads to generation of huge amounts of waste that can overwhelm the waste management system of that particular town. Therefore, there is a need to impose some sort of a limit on each household, so that, the generated waste can be managed effectively.

Further, all the waste that is collected either ends in landfills or is recycled to make other products. But, as is evident from research, the amount of waste that is recycle is very little as compared to the waste that enters the landfills. Sometimes, the landfills catch fire or release toxic methane gas which exacerbates the environmental problem that we are trying to solve. Hence, it is imperative that we identify the root cause (that is the increased waste generation per household) and take strict steps to mitigate the issue.

Of course, there are valid arguments that against this proposal. One of them is that the government should not have the authority to decide the amount of waste that households discard. Moreover, if the authority refuses to collect the waste more than a certain threshold, the citizens face a challenge of as to what they are supposed to do with the extra waste. If they waste is biodegradable, they can consider composting it in their own backyard. But such solutions have their own set of cons too. In conclusion, I believe that for the sake of environmental protection, some harsh steps might be necessary to be enforced, but they should come in force after consultation with the affected parties that is the citizens of the town or the city in this case.