The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Nowadays, environmental harms evoked by disposables mainly from customer merchandises are being serious problems worldwide. The following essay will argue that limiting household garbage by local authority can alleviate consumer generated waste.

Admittedly, the author’s claim that setting strict limits might hold true under certain circumstances may be beneficial because it may motivate people to produce less garbage. Products, first mostly produced at factories owned by companies, are eventually consumed and become wastes, and this process is held in each households. Thus, direct regulation of amount of garbage produced privately, cause immediate decrease of waste. For example, South Korea, has introduced pricing garbage bag in late two thousands. It has dramatically dropped nationwide waste volume, with private milting effect. Likewise, separate collection can be optimal choice. By considering which materials are collectible, it functions as impediment for making wastes, thus general citizens hesitates to make garbage. Accordingly, based on above reasons and examples, the author’s claim can be agreed to a certain degree.

However, the author’s assertion that restraining domestic waste, may not always be true at certain circumstances such regulations may also be ineffective because…. Recently, with rising concept of green growth, companies also needs to deal with environmental issues. Basically, a company exist to make profit, not to maintain environment. According to this fact, without restricting companies, they would make non ecological choice that can harm environment by producing environment unfriendly merchandise. For example, before limiting Freon gas at Paris convention, electro device makers used freon gas as cooling material for refrigerator or air conditioner. This deprived customers to choose environment sustainable machine, finally imposed to trash harmful waste. Similarly, limiting carbon emission, can lessen hazardous effects for environment, especially air. Kyoto protocol, convention before Paris, has positive effects about decreasing carbon wastes for restraining production itself. For this reason, contrary to the author’s claim, regulating companies is also important in order to reduce negative effect for environment.

Furthermore, Even if these regulations are enforced correctly, regulation itself needs bolstering forces; regulations may not be the best approach because changing w hat people think could be more effective. For sure, regulations forces people by multifaceted punishment. On the other hands, social movement, can makes people choose their decision voluntarily. For instance, Sweden, has nation widely holding campaign with sense of remaining good environment to descendants, which is also inherited by ascendants also. This makes Swedish customers to inspect products meticulously to minimize effect made by products, and thus makes companies to make unharmful decision in time promotes innovation in the industry to keep improving and reducing waste.

In conclusion, while the author’s claim might seem beneficial in certain conditions, counter points such as regulating companies, and changing what people think, the authors’ claim cannot be agreed in full.