The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

There is continuous research on the teaching methodology, while many recommend that we should praise positive actions, I cannot agree with the statement above that it is the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I believe teaching should fallow different methods to achieve the best results.

Praising the right action is a successful way to make them repeat the action more frequently, especially in early ages. Teachers in classrooms tend to give their attention to students who rais their hand before they speak and ignore the students who don't. This will teach the students that they have to rais their hand before they speak. Also, parents and teachers of kids in pre-school or kindergarten age use this strategy to encourage the kids to learn good habits. For example, if the teacher praise the kids who clean up the toys when playing time is over, others will be encouraged to do so next time. But if kids continue refusing to clean up, then the teacher should adopt other criteria to teach them such as; taking away the toys which they left on the ground.

Also, ignoring the negative behavior is not always righteous. While some kids do something wrong seeking attention, others may have bad intentions, ignoring their bad-doing will make them think there are consequences of their actions. For instance, ignoring the action of the student who is bullying others give him a wrong message that his action has no consequences, and he will repeat his action in the future. Kids have to learn that every action, either it is good or bad, has consequences which they will have to deal with sooner or later.

Hence, teachers and parents should actively discuss with the kids why some actions are considered good and others are bad. This will provoke their awareness about the consequences of their actions and comprehend better perception of the good and bad idea. For example, if the parents talk to their kids about lying negative effects, and the importance of being honest, the kid's tendency of telling the truth will increase since they understand the privileges of being Honest. Also, this will assure that the kids understand why their actions are praised or not and ameliorate their control on their feelings when they are complimented or condemned as a result of their behaviors.

In conclusion, different teaching techniques may be used by teachers or parents according to different age and personality of the receiver. It is important to understand the values and principles in order to practice it with more convenience.