The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Every coin has two sides and it would be shallow to make a claim that one side is more better the other. The author believes that the positive should be taught and the negatives ought to be discarded. But the negatives plays an equally important role in framing a society or an individual or a business. If people were thought only good they never would be thought to learn from their bad experiences. The same goes with anything in the world.

For instance consider a company x that started a business with a prime motive of providing their product at a much cheaper and lower price than their rivals. But being a new one into the market it couldn't make any profit and further had to suffer from losses, for which the company decided to shut down the firm. Now, the business of company X started with a positive mindset, but as being an neophyte into the segment it failed to woo the public attention as much as it rivals did. Had the company endured through the negative phase, it could have made a name for its good services the next year and which would have helped it for a better future. If the founders of the firm were aware about the negative consequences they would have made a better decision during tough times.

Secondly, People should be taught about the negative actions and their results, it would help them know what is morally right and what is not. It helps to have a better cognitive thinking about why something is considered wrong and the others right. For example, when a kid of 6 year old, who secretly robbed a pencil from his pal, would always be in a belief that what he did was not at all wrong unless he is thought that his action is a negative one.

let me give another example of a democratic country where the ruler is meticulous in doing everything right and unexpectedly his decision has resulted in a huge loss for the party in the next elections. If the ruler has considered the negative consequences while making a choice, then the bad impact would have barely happened.

There are many instances where this logic of using both positive and negative actions helps. Hence the author decision that only the positive should be praised, seems barely sensible and wise.