The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

everyone in life has a role model. humans in general have a tendency to follow the footsteps of the people the idolize. I wouldn't completely be in accord with the authors statement that the best way to understand the characteristics of a society is by examining the characters of the men and women that the society choose as it's heroes or its role models .

From an prelonged history we have seen that the kingdoms which have flourished have been those which have been ruled by great rulers likeAshoka or Chandragupt Maurya. The people of their kingdom blindly followed these rulers. The people of their kingdom kingdom to be kind and helpful , such as the king himself. they tried to inherit the characteristics of their king.

but many a times we have also seen in historical events that the people of the society who consider someone as role model differ a lot from the role model himself.Plus it is not compulsoary that everyone in the society would want to consider the same person as role model. being intellectually capable it is obvious that humans will tend to have differences. Mahatma Ganddhi was one of the most famous freedom fighter of india .The whole country considered him to be a role model.but it dint exactly put a light on the characteristic of the society. there were many who went against him and thought tha peace wasnt a way of getting freedom for the country . Though thatguarentee that the whole country will rebel in peace.there were ither freedom fighters like like Subhash Chandrabose who himself idealized Gandhi and was working with him to give india freedom , thought that the only way to achieve that was was through violence.

thus basing the characteristics of a whole society only on the fact, about whom they they idiolize would be wrong. there are area lot of aspects which should be considered before characterizing an entire society.

The amount of progress they have been making in the past years. how likeable are the people of the society amoung other people . there nature of sharing their knowledge with the whe people toward the needy and backwards. Their contributions in general for the developement of human kind . like most of the germans are considered adavnced in automobiles but are known for their secrecy for their technology. they are the people who believe in not sharing their technology of the world. Or for instance china is know to be a secular and isolated country who wants to survive on its own and close gates for all the other countries. these attributes of the given society arent receiverd by their role models but are inherited by them.

thus a society's characteristics thought being an improtant factor doesnt completely depend on their role models.