"The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines."

A society's image largely depends on the male or female leaders. The prompt recommends that we can evaluate its character by judging the heroic figures it choose. I mostly agree to this conclusion for two reasons. Futhermore, due to one particular reason I propose this not as entirely logical.

First of all, when we choose a human being as our hero or heroines, its because we idolize that person. we tend to follow his or her footsteps. Therefore, if we see that a heroic figure of a society is pretty decent and an honest and sagacious human that means the other menbers of society follow him or her. In addition to that, we can acknowledge that they are on the right path and we can believe their dicernment as well. In contrast to that, if we see the society is cosidering a reprobate and turpitude person as their model, we can undoubtedly presume this whole society as an unethical one as well.

Secondly, a hero or a leader is the one who represents the society on the behalf of everyone. that leader has some responsibilities for his or her society. For instance,a leader has to take care of the overall situation including social,cultural,infrastructural and other aspects. if any kinds of problem arise, everyone looks upon him. so judging the way how he or she handle the situation helps to generalize the society's image sometimes.

On the contary, these are not always true. sometimes, the process of choosing a hero is a corrupted one. Nowadays, corruption has become so pervasive. The society's human beings have to choose their hero out of impulse. Then we may not able consider this as a standard for evaluation if its one of the reasons.

To recapitulate, I agree that the assertion made by the prompt may be a efficient way but sometimes it is not. we have to careful in this regard as evaluation is a important matter.