"The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men
and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines."
The speaker claims that the character of a society's heroes and heroines ('heroes' hereafter)
reflects the character of that society. I tend to disagree. In my observation a society chooses
as its heroes not people who mirror the society but rather people whose character society's
members wish they could emulate but cannot--for want of character. Nevertheless, I concede
that one particular type of hero----the sociopolitical hero--by definition mirrors the character of
the society whose causes the hero champions.
First consider the sports hero, whom in my observation society chooses not merely by virtue
of athletic prowess. Some accomplished athletes we consider heroes because they have
overcome significant obstacles to achieve their goals. For example, Lance Arm-strong was not
the first Tour de France cycling champion from the U.S.; yet he was the first to overcome a
life-threatening illness to win the race. Other accomplished athletes we consider heroes
because they give back to the society which lionize them. As Mohammed Ali fought not just for
boxing rifles but also for racial equality, so baseball hero Mark McGuire fights now for
disadvantaged children, while basketball hero Magic Johnson fights for AIDS research and
awareness. Yet, do the character traits and resulting charitable efforts of sports heroes reflect
similar traits and efforts among our society at large? No; they simply reveal that we admire
these traits and efforts in other people, and wish we could emulate them but for our own
personal failings.
Next consider the military hero, who gains heroic stature by way of courage in battle, or by
otherwise facing certain defeat and emerging victorious. Former presidential hopeful John
McCain, whom even his political opponents laud as a war hero for having not only endured
years of torture as a prisoner of war but also for continuing to serve his country afterwards. Do
his patriotism and mettle reveal our society's true character? Certainly not. They reveal only
that we admire his courage, fortitude, and strength.
114
On the other hand, consider a third type of hero: the champion of social causes who inspires
and incites society to meaningful political and social change. Such luminaries as India's
Mahatma Gandhi, America's Martin Luther King, South Africa's Nelson Mandela, and Poland's
Lech Lawesa come immediately to mind. This unique brand of hero does reflect, and indeed
must reflect, the character of the hero's society. After all, it is the function of the social
champion to call attention to the character of society, which having viewed its reflection in the
hero is incited to act bravely--in accordance with its collective character.
In sum, I agree with the speaker's claim only with respect to champions of society's social
causes. Otherwise, what society deems heroic reflects instead a basic, and universal, human
need for paragons--to whom we can refer as metaphors for the sorts of virtues that for lack of
character we cannot ourselves reflect.