Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In many fields, we see a limit on the number of years a person can be in a leadership position. While a few of them grant only a fews years, others are munificent in allowing people in staying in the leadership position for quite a long period. The claim in the prompt suggests that people in power should step down after five years as such practice ensures the success of an enterprise through revitalization by the new leadership. I diagree with the prompt and feel that experience longer than five years as a leader would immensely be helpful in success of a company.

Firstly, by making it mandatory for people in powerful positions to step down after five years would mean to discard the expertise, knowledge and experience gained over years. It would require a substantial amout of time for a leader to be most effective and steer the company towards success. The leadership qualities are not obtained by studying in a university or by observing a highly successful person. It is through experiencing and handling various situations as they are presented through passage of time would help form qualities of good leader. Having exposed to enough of real-world problems, they will be in a better position to take sound decisions. For instance, let us take the example of politics. People who stay in the field of politics for longer periods have definitely have higher chances of taking benevolent decisions than those people who came to powerful positions recently. Thus it is imperative that people are allowed to lead powerful roles longer than five years as the adeptness that can be gained only through passage of time will play a pivotal role in making an enterprise successful.

Secondly, qualities like maintaining equanimity in mired situatoins, displaying profound perception and forethought etc can be found only in people who are in power for quite some time. In contrast, if the leadership positions are changed every five years, the incoming people can be naive in their decision making process or take aribrary decision without much forethought that can prove to be deterimental for the success of an organisation. At this point, it is worth mentioning the case of scientific fields like medicine or space exploration. In these fields, the longer the people stay in power, the better they get in excelling in those fields. They tend to develop a profound understanding of subjects that can help them to solve a problem in the least expected ways.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot ignore a few exceptions. In fields like technology, it is desirable to change the leadership at periodic intervals. Technology is fast chaning and if a person whose ideas are based on outdated technology, it is sure to cause impediment for the success of the company. Instead, if new leadership is consecrated who come with new ideas, it can be guaranteed to be beneficial for the success of a technology company.

To recapitulate, people should be allowed to serve in powerful positions for more than five years as they will have better experience, display foresight and take sound decisions they otherwise would not have.