Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

People generally travel to have a break from their mundane life, explore the world and different cultures, and have some fun time. While some people prefer to travel with a companion, others prefer going out all by themselves. I personally like to travel alone. I feel this way for the reasons that will be explained in the following passage.

First, I view travelling as escaping from all the buzz that one would have in their daily lives. Going to office, having meetings with clients, constant pressure to meet deadline, family responsibilities etc sometimes makes me feel to go out somewhere far and just spend sometime alone: only me and nothing else. Traveling alone helps me introspect which wouldn't be possible if I have a companion along. This profound thought process helps me better understand myself and re-invent myself. If I have a companion, I will have the feeling that someone is with me and I have to see if she is having good time or if she wants something etc.

Second, I feel that less is more - be it with the baggage or with people. I usually travel alone to feel the freedom - no job, no deadlines and no responsibilities. It is just me. I travel to do what I like and enjoy the moment to its fullest. If I have someone along I feel that I have some constrains to adhere to. For example, when I would like to try out something in the vacation, I have to ask my companion as well if she would like to. If she is not happy with that, I cannot just go all by myself and have fun leaving her behind. If I want to eat something, I should ask her if she want it too. Consequently, I need to think twice before I do something. On the other hand, if I am alone, I feel like I have all the freedom to go all out without any strings attached.

Finally, I prefer traveling alone as it is easy to plan my trip. Since it is all about me, I would easily jot down all the points to do in the vacation. On the other hand, having companion would preclude me from taking only my opinions into consideration. I will have to pause for a moment and discuss with her if she is okay with the plan or not. The process of planning itself would look like a hassle. As a result, the whole trip can look tedious as the planning itself is so frustrating that I feel like canceling the travel altogether.

Therefore, I prefer travelling alone as it helps me in introspecting and re-discovering myself, live the moment to its fullest and last but not the least, planning the trip becomes so hassle free.