Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

For reaching a certain position, whether it is the head of an organization or government sector, people go through a lot of studies and work. Ceasing this power is only the start of their productivity and the outcome is to be seen after a period of time. The question to be asked is how long this period should last. Some argue that it should not exceed 5 years others believe it can be more. In my opinion, the period that a CEO or politician or any person in power needs to be more than 5 years.

First of all, 5 years is not enough to see whether the person in power achieved all their goals and made their firm increase or decrease in power. Indeed, this time is only enough to initiate the work and correct the errors that have been done by the previous owner. To start performing the new plans set firms and or government has to thoroughly study and develop all the set of ideas in that plan which can consume a long period and efforts. For example, a politician that has recently got into the control of the education system will have to, especially if this sector suffered from a multitude of problems come up with a solution and during a great amount of his job will be only to correct the errors that this system had. Having the major errors corrected is when this person will be able to implement all the new plans to strengthen this sector. This being said, any person that reached power will need a great amount of time to reverse the difficult situation the firm or sector is in.

Secondly, 5 years is a period that is greatly asked for experience to obtain a job so how can a person leave o powerful job after it. While performing the worker acquires the necessities to perform their job perfectly which means that it is after this when they will be able to develop the enterprise. Moreover, the leadership is not a quality that people have in advance instead it is learned through experience and the activities done with different groups of employees. By way of illustration, a manager that has worked in a firm for a great duration will have understood the way their teamwork and how to motivate them. If this person wants to change their job the firm will try its hardest to keep them while other firms will try their hardest to get them. This example explains how important is the experience acquired through actual performance thus how important is the duration of their activities.

Thirdly, while working in a certain environment, a leader understands how the firm and its employees operate thus they know all the problems that it faces and how urgent some are with respect to others. They will know the best strategies that will solve them and the best plans to reverse them into profitable actions. This leader will know perfectly while designing a project, the set of plans they need to make and the hindrance that the firm will have. In addition, they will know the records that they need to review so as to prevent these obstacles. These people will definitely have all the possible resources to empower the organization thus they will revitalize it.

In conclusion, setting a specific period of time for leaders to perform is quite limiting if not harmful for the firms. These durations can be stated for some specific jobs but not the ones that are powerful as they need more time to know, correct then empower.