Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

What source of information is unbiased, to which we can really trust: the internet, media, other people, literature, science? The author's assertion suggests, that in any case, the information might be eventually turned out to be false, and, thus, we should not trust to any piece of information. I consider the claim to be far much extreme and am inclined to disagree with the statement. My opinion is supported by arguments which i elaborate on in further paragraphs.

First of all, I concede that there are cases when previous discoveries had been refuted. For instance, the geocentric theory of the solar system. For decades this theory had been considered as an inevitable truth in different layers of society including even more intellectually oriented people until it was proven to be nonsense. However, although such examples illustrate a complete change in views and understandings of how our environment is composed through time, in the majority of cases new-developed theories and discoveries represent extensions of the previous ones. As an example, let's consider Einstein's theory of relativity. Its creation didn't change completely or refute the Newtonian mechanics. Instead, it provided a physical apparatus for mechanics in special cases - when a speed exceeds the speed of the light wave. This example shows that information is not necessarily will be turned to be false, it might instead play the role of a fundament for acquiring a new piece of information.

Furthermore, If the claim is correct, there would be no reason to fund scientific institutions or universities, no reason to read books or take an education. Therefore, the author's statement is exaggerated to a hight extant. It is obvious that a fact may be proven to be false in the future, but it is not the reason to mistrust all the information we receive.