Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

An argument when propounded by someone is done so to the best of their ability. According to them that particular idea is the supreme proposal that they could come up with in order to solve a certain problem. But many a times there may be certain flaws in an idea and its conception. These flaws are usually abstruse to the originator of the proposal. Hence it is of extreme importance that the promoter of the argument is made to defend his idea against others with contrasting views. Only when an idea is able to placate and convince someone of its opposing viewpoint will it truly be considered an ingenious proposal.

If an idea is fallacious and its creator is not made to debate his argument against people who are skeptical or dubious about the same, it may ultimately lead to the innovator going ahead with a faulty proposal and then lead to several failures post the result or at a very advanced stage. Redressing such mistakes at a later stage when the stakes are very high might be extremely expensive or impossible, whereas these could have been avoided at the initial stage itself if the proposal was assessed by those having doubts or contrasting opinions. For example in a Civil engineering multinational corporation, a proposal for a flyover is usually defended by its creators against a panel that broadcasts is trepidations regarding it. This leads to the elucidation of several errors which can then be corrected before the actual flyover is constructed. If this is not done a faulty flyover made with a fallacious plan could be deleterious to the people using it.

Also defending an argument against people with an opposite view point actually opens up an opportunity for constructive criticism. By listening to the feedback and questions of those against, one can actually work on their original proposal to make an enhanced more efficient version of it. This is how most policy makers work in several democratic countries across the world. For a legislation to be passed, it is discussed in the legislative assembly and defended against the members of the opposition party, so that the flaws of the proposal can be discussed. As a result of this a proposal is made the most efficient it can be and it is ensured that no unjust laws are passed.

In the process of defending an idea against those who are skeptical about it, actually new point of views are discussed. The criticizers might show the originator a different point of view of approaching the same problem which might have not struck him before. For example often while answering questions in a debate we can come up with new problems and new solutions to them.

Hence according to me it is essential that any argument is defended against those with contrasting views to it, so the idea’s actual potential and true value can be gauged. Only by this approach will we be able to increase the efficacy and efficiency of a particular proposal which will heighten our chances of success.