Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To defend oneself in a debate people often look for the best argument by exploring all the possibilities to come up with the most

convincing argument. It becomes difficult to come up with the best counter-argument to convince others. Even if one comes up

with an argument to know if the argument is the best and would be sufficient to convince others is difficult. I agree with the claim

that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. It forces the other person

to first understand the argument and come up with something convincing enough to counter it.

Presenting an argument with an opposing viewpoint forces the other person to first assimilate it and then present counterarguments strong enough to counter it. By doing so, a person first deep dives to understand the meaning of the argument presented only then one can present an argument opposing it. Deep diving to explore the true meaning of an argument helps to understand the true nature, belief and origin of it. It helps to discover the value of the idea. Taking a simple example of student-teacher interaction, if the teacher presents a theory to a student, the student can raise doubts and present counterarguments only when he has understood the theory enough to develop and build countertheories on it. Similarly in a debate by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea?

Looking back at all the discoveries and inventions by human beings, the claim presented seems to be the working principle for all of the invention's validation. During the early 16th century, the first person to present with the thought that the earth used to revolve around the sun faced backlash for having a counterbelief against then held common belief that it was the sun which revolved around the earth. However, being challenged and presented with an opposing viewpoint led to a major number of space studies by astronomers who came later as it was difficult to digest the new opposing belief. First understanding the true meaning of the argument and looking for answers led to the discovery of the telescope. Not only these but major discoveries were validated only when opposing viewpoint was presented to then held common belief forcing to defend an idea against the counter views helped to understand the true nature and value of the new belief presented and later people accepting it.