Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Some believe that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero because they think that the reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished. From my prospective, the claim is a little arbitrary and the reason cannot stand totally true.

There are some celebrities who used to be estimable persons in heart of the public being caught doing something bad or even committing a crime. therefore, their reputation is eventually ruined because of the inconformity between what the society used to hold how they are like and the real faces of them. people may draw a conclusion that everyone would be the same, which I think may not be correct. In my opinion, there are plenty of man and woman who may not be famous in our society are always capable to stand with good reputation in the people around them. if one chooses not to do the wrong thing in life, his or her reputation would never be ruined no matter how careful the media scrutiny is.

Furthermore, hero is not defined as not doing one wrong thing in his or her life. they may be caught by the media and their mistakes may be spread to everyone in our society. however, some of them would remain to be a hero after the society finds some shortcomings on him or her because those would never offset what makes them a hero. Take LeBron james as an example, he is an American professional basketball player who currently plays for the Los Angeles Lakers of the national basketball Association. Commonly nicknamed "King james" and "The Chosen one", james was highly promoted in the national media as a future nba star while still in high school, and was named Ohio's "Mr. basketball" three times. however, he was found to say some words related to racial discrimination and some people may worry about his reputation. he apologized afterward immediately and said that he did not mean it. Today our society still regard him as a hero in basketball field or even one of the greatest basketball players in the whole nba history.

To sum up, the nature of our society consists of open-minded and forgiving. In the 19th century, three great classical theories of social and historical change were created: the sociocultural evolutionism, the social cycle theory and the Marxist historical materialism theory. those theories had one common factor: they all agreed that the history of humanity is pursuing a certain fixed path, most likely that of the social identity. therefore, it still stands a chance for the living man or woman to become a hero due to his or her contribution to the progress of our society. The reputation would never be diminished if only several small mistakes are made or some shortcomings of one are revealed. No man is perfect after all.