Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the center of Seoul, Korea, there exist a large statue of King Se-Jong, the past emperor of Korea who created Hangul, the letters for Korean language. Clearly, all Koreans look up to him, and he is a role model for many Koreans. However, it is questionable whether he reflects the character of the Korean Society. All societies will surely respect a person who created their language. While examining the character of the men and women that society considers its role models can provide some information about the character of the society, it is not the best way to investigate the society.

There seems to be a universal consensus on people that a society chooses as its hero. They either contributed significantly to the development of the society or displayed a universally valuable quality. For instance, Kim Dae Joong, a former president of Korea, is respected by many citizens for his contribution to peace in the Korean peninsula. In this case, examining him is not enough to obtain the characters specific to the society, as peace seems to be a cherished value for most societies.

The analysing characters of respected figures of a society indeed provides some information about the character of the society. For instance, Martin Luther King Jr. is highly respected by many people as a hero in the United States for his contribution to racial equality. This reflects the nature of the U.S population, that it consists of people with diverse races, and that equality is one of the most critical social values for its citizens.

However, it should be questioned if one can always obtain information from investigating the characters of a society’s heroes and role models. For instance, George Washington is surely highly looked up to by many citizens of the United States. However, his significance mostly comes from the fact that he is the first president of the United States. As most societies consider their first ruler very important, investigation of his character can’t seem to be able to provide much information about the character of the United States.

Therefore, examining the character of the people that a society considers its heroes or role models is meager to be the best way to understand the character of a society. While its importance should not be neglected in studying diverse societies, it should be used with other methods in order for one to gain through understanding.