Claim: The educational curriculum for young children should emphasize social skills and the arts over math and reading skills.

Reason: Such a curriculum would foster important moral and social development in children and lead to them becoming well adjusted adults.

Develop a response to the claim in which you discuss whether or not you agree with it. Focus specifically on whether or not you agree with the reason upon which the claim is based.

Children are our future. Thus, it is vital that parents, teachers, and society alike ensure that children get the best possible education as to prepare them for a successful life. That being said, arguing that the educational curriculum for young children should emphasize social skills and the arts over math and reading skills for moral and social development reasons is nearsighted. Social skills and the arts should be as important as math and reading skills. However, if a tradeoff must be made, math and reading skills should still be prioritized over social skills and the arts.

First and foremost, cognitive development is potentially the most important educational goal when it comes to young children. Unlike cognitive skills, moral and social development can be fostered in young children in various environments outside of the classroom. The average child from an average American family might not have parents who have the time to teach them how to read or how to do math at home, but will be able to learn about what is right or wrong and how to socialize with people through family interactions, playground interactions and other everyday interactions. Thus, the core goal of school is to ensure that children get the quantifiable education they need that they might not be able to get anywhere else. Math and reading skills are vital to a child’s academic future and gives children a path to leading a successful life. Thus, these skills should be prioritized over that of social skills or the arts.

Additionally, we should prioritize math and reading skills over social skills and the arts because on top of the cognitive skills that can be instilled, math and reading skills can also help foster moral and social development. In fact, it can be argued that reading, which improves reading skills, can educate a child more about morals than social skills and the arts ever could at such a tender age. Since most young children are given reading assignments that promote morals, they get a better understanding of tenets and values through reading than through artwork. Similarly, math is a notoriously challenging subject. Many children will need to ask for help in understanding their assignments, thus improving their social skills. Children can also build confidence and self esteem by succeding in such a difficult subject, thereby furthering their social development. As such, while social skill and the arts are evidently different compared to math and reading skills, we can argue that the latter set of skills can also foster important moral and social development in children and lead to them becoming well adjusted adults.

Opponents will argue that emphasizing social skills and the arts are the best way to foster moral and social development. However, we should take their statement with a grain of salt and consider other classes and skills. As demonstrated in the previous paragraph, math and reading skills can help foster moral and social development. A stronger case is that sports would be a great class to foster such development as well. On top of keeping children fit and healthy, sports can teach children the importance of communication, teamwork, and integrity. As such, if the educational curriculum’s main focus is to ensure moral and social development in young children, there are various other classes we can consider and emphasize instead of social skills and the arts.

In conclusion, we all want to do right by our future generation. As such, it is vital for us to continue to emphasize math and reading skills, along with other skills and classes, so that we can raise a generation of smart, conscious and well adjusted adults.