Claim: The emergence of online "blogosphere" and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the US
Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, the standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.
we live in a world where great importance has been assigned to democracy. Democracy in general
terms refers to an environment where people are freely allowed to express their own opinion,
the so-called "freedom of speech and expression". the emergence of blogs and the rise of social
media has witnessed unprecedented growth in the last decade.
The decline in quality of political discourse in US can be definitely attributed to the
emergence of online "blogosphere" and social media. the main reasoning behind this accusation
is the fact that social media and blogs have become a place where anyone can express their
opinion. but more importantly, we need to realize that the stuff that is posted or the
political opinions which are published, lack authenticity. there are many times when the people
responsible for publishing such articles themselves do not have in-depth knowledge of the
matter which they talk about. political opinions are a very sensitive issue and it is very easy
to stir up public opinion by posting controversial political stuff. in earlier times when there
were debates or disagreement over a political issue, the parties in question had complete
knowledge of the problem at hand. such discussions were beneficial for both the parties
involved and the common man as well. But the emergence of blogs and social media has changed
the landscape. It has become a platform for common man to vent his anger. The people involved
in publishing political opinions lack proper knowledge about the content they publish. The
publishing's are driven more towards conveying their own beliefs, which can be wrong. Many a
times, the use of social media has been done by rival groups to criticize each other by trying
to stir up the opinion of the public. such actions not only create a false image of a political
issue among the people, it is also a perfect scenario where democracy is used for ones benefit
and its true purpose is never served.
we need to also remember that with the right to democracy, there are certain duties that do
come with it.Thus, we observe that the use of blogs and social media can have a negative
impact in the political scenario of a country. The reason is that the common man does not have
proper knowledge of how a country is governed or what it takes for efficient working of country
politics. Hence, to assign power to such people to express their opinions on political issues
clearly lacks logic.we also need to realize that the use of social media pertains to a large
portion of the country. At such big platforms, it is not advisable to publish political
opinions because it can clearly impact a large number of the country's citizens and the content
published lacks authenticity. Thus, it is important to censor the content being published about
political matters on social media and through blogs.
It is not good to stop the publishing of political opinions on social media in its entirely
because that would be a disgrace to democracy. But proper censoring of materials published can
be done.