Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

We, humans, tend to fulfill our selfish desires in order to feel acknowledged and alive. Certainly, follow your dreams sends a mixed-signal, because in reality most people of providing for themselves before focusing on contribution to society and altruistic deeds. Hence, in my opinion, the claim, as well as the reason, is irrefutable for the majority of cases.

Consider, a kid who wanted to become an actor to fulfill his avarice for fame. Now if that child was instilled with the thought of solely following his dreams, surely he fails to learn the importance of contributing to society. Fulfilling selfish desires only provide a short-term jubilance, hence in the longer run, the actor would be found wanting in terms of happiness. Therefore, more emphasis on worthy goals which helps the community to flourish as a whole is important rather than just following your dream. Surely, we firstly have become influential enough for a large contribution but we must start early by making contributions on a scale we can manage which starts by exhorting the kids to pick worthy goals.

A professor working on research has two motives, the primary motive is getting tenure as well as recognition which pushes them in the first place to follow their dream. The contribution to the erudite community becomes secondary because of which a large percentage of researchers fail to achieve breakthroughs and due to the notion "publish or perish" in scholarly communities, the researchers suffer. On the contrary, the reserachers who as kids were instilled with the values of philanthropy tend to achieve recognition as well as a tenure because their primary goal is unselfish. Hence, unselfish goals have a higher precedence over selfish goals and kids should indeed to extoled to pick worthy goals.

Although in some situations the motivation factor for following our dreams may be selfish, The important thing is to realize that on a broad level every dream is selfish, it is during the path of achieving those selfish goals we realize that we indeed have a role towards society and community.