Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

No matter how hard the situation is - someone should not lose hope, she/he should not stop dreaming; dream is something that indeed help us to survive in thousands of obstacles in our life. Though I would like to say do not stop dreaming, I would also like to draw the importance of choosing a worthy goal or dream throughout this article.

First of all, I believe - people absolutely can do whatever they want to do in their lives; there is nothing that can stop them achieving them if they follow their hearts and stick to their plans. The importance of dreaming is no doubt a significant one in our life, but the importance of worthy goals should not be forgotten. Dreaming something does not mean someone should mix up and picked some imprudent goals. My own experience is a good example of this - one of my friends always wanted to serve our nation; even though he has completed his engineering degree with us, joining the military was his only dream during his whole life. After graduation, he tried hard to make that dream true, but after a certain period of time, he had somewhat lost his faith. Maybe it was some financial odds that force him changing the path. He started to work with us in a private firm with a handsome salary, however, that did not fulfill his desire, he was sad and often share his thoughts with us. One day I told him - there is nothing to be worried of, it is obvious we need money, but that does not mean we should not stop dreaming of becoming what we want. Just because you are in some financial burden does not mean you have to stop that dream of serving the nation. At that point, he told me that he was feeling selfishness chase that dream. I told him that if you would become the Captain of our military, your family would be the happiest one of this world, there is nothing to be felt selfishness, you rather take your time. Then he left the job, started for the preparation and after 6 months we heard the good news, he indeed becomes a Captain of our military, in the signal core (engineering section). However, my point is he was not selfish to follow his dream, and I do not think he was imprudent choosing that dream.

Secondly, at no point, people should worry about being failures if their goals are prudent and reasonable. Initially, they might be failures, but that does not preclude the possibilities of becoming the persons they always wanted to be. As I said earlier, my friend failed first time, but he did not stop to keep alive his dream. Though he was at some point, ambivalent, but he was able to become a Captain because he always believed that dream. From his experiences, I have learned that if someone's dream is not selfish and prudent they should not be worry of becoming failures. It is just a matter of time to become successful in our lives.

In conclusion, I would say people should always dream and that dream should be bigger enough that at no point that would seem like being selfish or irrational; It is us who will shape that dream into reality.