Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that young people should opt for worthy goals, instead of following their dreams. I, for one, believe that having an agenda (being selfish) is of paramount in achieving anything. Dreams are the one thing that keeps us all going. But that does not mean, for example, to dream of becoming a dictator just for the sake of power. Having a selfish aim of growth of ones nation is an amzing dream to have. Not only is it worthy, but is also driven by this mere selfishness.

Firstly, what are worthy goals? It is not necessary that 'worthy goals' and sheer 'dreams' are mutually exclusive. For example, Gandhiji had a dream of free India. Isn't this a worthy goal? It counts as all three - a dream, a worthy goal and also a selfish wish. Therefore, defining the concept of 'worthy goals, here is very important.

Secondly, I do agree that talent without a proper direction can be wasted. Meaning, just having a dream is not sufficient. Weighing it's 'worthiness' gives it a cause. Drives the dreamer to fulfill it with great zeal. For example, the want of becoming a billionaire is just selfish. Unless, the drive behind it was to end up helping others and giving back to the society. "I want to be a billionaire one day and help build a community center for the people in my area, where I grew up looking at the poverty. Building factories will help in having 24 hour electricity and bring jobs to my hometown." That is, I do echo the 'drive' sense of this assertion (worthy goal) made by the author.

All in all, I partially do agree with the author that knowing the worthiness of a dream is something to emphasize on. Else, it is just a one person dream and might not have great consequences that it deserves. However, following ones dreams doesn't always mean it is a selfish act. It could be counted as a worthy goal too.