Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

According to the statement above, imagination is more importan than experience. The author supports this thesis by arguing that inexperienced people can imagine what is possible without the limitations imposed by habits. In other words, unlike experience, imagination lacks costraints and permits us to foresee possible situation.

At first glance, the author’s reasoning seems to be convincing. If we had the power of imagination, we would be able to foresee all the possible situations. We do not have to have a certain experience before foreseeing a situations. A person might be able to solve a problem that he has never seen before just through the power of his fantasy. It is not necessary to be a plumber to fix a problem with your pipe: you could find the solution by imaginating the responsibile for the problem.

Yet, there are some problems. First of all, imaginating possible situations does not involves identifying which situations is more likely to happen. In other words, when an unexperienced person imagines what is possible, she gives the same likelihood to all the situations. This can be disadvantageous, since if we want to implement a plan is important to know whether it is viable or not.

Second, the capacity of imaginating supposed by the author does not seem to be held by the majority of people. Consider this though experiment. Suppose not to have any experience about the world. Suppose, for example, that you have been confined in your room since your birth. It seems very hard to think that you can imagine how hard becoming a university professor is – you do not even know what a university professor is. The point is that our imagination is not a tools that enables us to create ex nihilo. Imagination is just a way to put representations of things we have already experienced toghether. Since this is the case – imaginations depends on experience – it seems that, contrary to what the author argues, experience is more significant.

In conclusion, the author’s thesis and the reasons he offers are questionable. First, the capacity of imaginating thought by the author is very rare; experience is, instead, a feature of the whole human species (and, more in general, animals). Second, unlike experience, imagination is not able to discriminate which situations are more likely to happen, a condition extremely important for implementing a plan.