Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Based on the reason that people without experience are free to imagine, one can claim that imagination is more valuable than experience. However, this reason is inadequate to prove that imagination is more valuable than experience in any situation. More detail.

Indeed, sometimes, experience restrict imagination. Before 18th century when the industrial revolution started, technology is trivial. Humans’ habits and experiences told us that it is impossible that technology substitutes humans’ hands one day. If precursors constrained their habits and attitudes in order to make them commensurate with experiences, we would not able to talk distantly by cell phone, travel by airplane, or search information online.

This can be elaborated in the following way. In a case where one lacks experience, imagination can be used as a tool to enhance creativity hence putting once goals in perspective. This is because through imagination one has the ability to think of creative ideas that can be used as solutions to the existing problems. At this point of view, although both imagination and experience have value, imagination is more valuable because it lacks boundaries and disciplines hence one can be able to think of the solutions of the problems from scratch without necessarily having to align oneself to established facts. In essence, imagination can be seen as the basis of innovation since it accepts new ideas that do not have to be backed up facts.

However, when the claim alone is made without supporting it with the reason provided, the claim ceases to hold any waters. First, both imagination and experience have value on their own hence one cannot be said to be more valuable than the other. Imagination can make one to be creative, while experience makes one to be the master.

Experience is very valuable in daily life. When an organization hire new employees, they prefer the candidates with more experiences. When parents choose schools for their children, they prefer teachers with more years’ educational experiences. Experience is even more important than imagination in some field, such as medical staffs, before they accumulate enough experiences, they can only be trainee doctors. A doctor cannot only use imagination or creativity to diagnose and cure patients. Experience is the indispensable value for a doctor.

Otherwise, experience can be said to be a basis for the foundation of imagination since it is very difficult to have a person come up with ideas only by imagining. There has to be some form of established facts that gives an individual the ability to think beyond boundaries already set and come up with new ideas through imagination. Wright brothers’ Wright Flyer was inspirited by birds. And Edison’s light bulb was an improvement on previous electronical light - which was not have practical use. Both Wright brothers and Edison’s inventions came from facts or previous experiences.

Thus, saying that imagination is more valuable than experience without any reason is wrong. Imagination is the important part of modern life advancement; however, experience provides foundation of imagination and it is indispensable in daily life. experience and imagination interwoven to make human life process. Experience provides foundation for imagination, imagination breaks the experience boundaries to make a creative idea, and then experience optimizes the idea. It would not be so contradictory that both experience and imagination are equally important.