Claim : The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today's times.Reason : Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Education plays an important role in shaping one's mindset. I disagree with the statement that multidisciplinary education is overrated and a career specific education is required in its place as it constricts the students learning in only selected field.

Consider a physics research scientist, one may think that the only education they need is in the field of physics and all others are of no use. On the contrary many of the high skilled jobs require a multidisciplinary role. A physics researcher along with physics need to also be educated in fields that may help his/her own research such as chemistry or maths. And not just ordinary subjects but soft skills such as public speaking, entrepreneurship and business management are some of the key skills required in today's competitive world markets.

One can argue that multidisciplinary subjects like maths, philosophy, music, sports along with the subjects required for a certain career adds a lot of undue pressure on the students to excel in those subjects also. It also increases the course duration due to the inclusion of these subjects which also increases the tution fee that the student has to pay. Thus focusing on specific subjects will lead to reduced number of years required to complete the degree courses as well as reduced cost.

However this is based on the assumption that the student is well aware of the specific career stream he/she wants to pursue. This is not the case for a majority of students and having a multidisciplinary approach will help the students in finding their true interests. In this way multidisciplinay education can give an opportunity to learn a variety of subjects which the students then can then choose a career in.

Thus it can be said that multidisciplinary education has many benefits that outweigh the career specific education .