Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

In general, it is true that world today is much more complex than it was in the past. But this does not justify the claim made in the prompt. It is often the events of the past and its learnings that make way to decide and come up with new plausible solution. Everywhere people look for precedents to decide on taking big decision. Experiences in general help people to make prudent decision on big problems. In any case, political, social, or scientific; experience of an individual have huge impact on discerning judgments in any predicament.

In the aftermath of world's most harrowing industrial disaster, Bhopal Gas Tragedy in 1984, industrial stalwarts came together to introspect and learn from the findings to make stern safety rules so that such incident does not happen again in the future. This led to formation of Process Safety Management, which serves as guidebook in making processes safer for people as well as environment. Often in the times of political imbroglio, leaders seek truth and wisdom from ancient philosophies. Experiences of previous Presidents help in construing foreign policies of a nation. People try not to follow the same path which in past have backfired on them.

In scientific world, past experiences have always served a basis for the future experiments, and thus leading to breakthrough discoveries. For example, the structure of an atom was studied by several scientists, and each new discovery was based on the experiences and failures of the previous works to scientifically justify every aspect. Each flaw was religiously studied, and eventually the basic structure was proposed and accepted globally. Similarly, in the field of medical sciences, past medical conditions of patients serve an important criterion in decision of type of medications to be provided. Several people are allergic to sporadic things; their previous experiences help them in avoiding any further complications.

However, these precedents should be considered only when there is relevance in other aspects of life as well. Learnings from the past experiences should be collaborated in cognizant of the fact that world has changed in every sense i.e. economic, political, and social; countries are now more dependent on other. These factors should not be neglected in making important decisions. Things which were quite popular and collectively believed to be true do not hold the same sacrosanct status in current world.

Conclusively, it is always the past experiences which make people more prudent and discerning in their day-today decision making. But often things in the past do not carry the same relevancy in contemporary world, and decisions should be based on a balance between these two.