Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The above argument cannot be fully agreed as the past events are very much essential in the contemporary world. history cannot be totally neglected. this is evident from the fact that in the school level, the subject history has been made a mandatory one. there are many connections that could be made concerning the past and the present as any kind of progress has its base in the history of mankind. Every new discoveries and inventions in the modern age has its root from the primitive development that took place years ago. we, humans have developed from apes, which could be one reason behind arguing that the past connects the present.

The above context can be cited by means of an example. In the field of science and technology, the discovery of fire plays a crucial role. Without it, the idea to illuminate in the form of tube lights and bulbs could not have been thought of. similarly, people were able to cook food and relish its taste only because of the concept of fire. The concept that the stone age man found by mere chance has proved itself to be beneficial for all the men living in the entire world till today. Moreover, in mathematics, advancements could be noticed owing to a simple discovery of a zero which is a major attribute to the modern computers which takes the inputs in the form of bits, that is in 0 and 1.

In addition to the above, we can be assured of the fact that the women of today’s age are able to live longer and lead a peaceful life because of the abolition of social injustice like sati in which the wife dies immediately after the death of her husband. Dowry torture, which was prevalent in older days have come to an end due to the laws pertaining to it. women of yester years who were not able to move out of their houses are looked upon as doctors, lawyers, engineers, teachers and entrepreneurs.

Nevertheless, there are few incidences where past histories are irrelevant. For instance, the superstitious beliefs of the past and the existence of supernatural powers create unnecessary fear among the people. Stories that our grandparents tols us could be taken as fictional rather than real.Such instances need not be projected to the present-day kids as it is of no use to them.

Thus, to conclude, we can say that, in the field of arts, science and technology past events are essential for the progress of a nation. similarly, recent discoveries and invention are made based on the information’s from the things developed earlier. Safety measures and precautions like wearing helmet and seats belts are taken only based on the survey of the past accident records. past histories and writings depict the way our early ancestors had lived. Also, one would not have known that Jesus Christ, the Savior, had come into this earth in order to redeem us from our sins and to lead a better life. Hence, past events have greater connections with our contemporary events.