Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A person's decisions are based on their past experiences, one cannot remove or deny the past's influence in making present decisions. However, The prompt suggests that the past cannot help in making the current important decisions. I mostly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons.

Firstly, Decision making is a subjective phenomenon. The person who is assessing the conclusion would look in a biased manner because of his past experiences in life. The mistakes that we have committed in the past and the learnings from them should be carried forward to make an informed and sound analysis. For Example, Dr. Thomas Alva Edison, the inventor of the electric bulb, failed in identifying the proper material for the filament many times. If he doesn't analyze the failure and does not identify the materials that are devoid of the properties as that of the metal, he wouldn't be able to reach the correct fit. Adding to this, If the Wright brothers haven't learned from their past failures with different flight models, they wouldn't have come up with the current working model of planes. Therefore, we need to take away lessons from our past in finding a viable solution for the present. Building upon past observations would result in an accurate and prudent decision.

Secondly, Certain things in the world will be changing at a slow pace, if not immutable, which often goes covert. Humans have an inbuilt mechanism that adapts our body and mind gradually to the changes around us. For Example, Climate change is a much-discussed topic for decades. Many environmentalists and activists have been verbose about it for a long-time. But, Climate change isn't a sudden phenomenon, it takes years or decades to observe changes in the temperatures. Also, art kept evolving with time but its overall essence remained almost similar over the years. Hence, we need not take impulsive decisions thinking of happening of swift speculative scenarios. Instead, we need to make gradual and long-term sustainable decisions by not giving too much weight to the complexity of the world.

Nevertheless, we might also have some scenarios where our previous memory doesn't hold a quantifiable significance. For Example, we know a little about the fields like quantum physics, artificial intelligence, etc.., if we try to fit them into the existing model of thought, we may not make fruitful progress in their adaptation. We should have fresh and futuristic thoughts in identifying the potential use cases of such new technologies. Finally, If we keep judging things with our past affinities, we tend to be opaque towards change and may end up taking erroneous decisions that could seriously impact our future.

To conclude, One can definitely not completely eliminate the influence of our past on our present decisions, be it positive or negative, but, stating that the influence is completely vitiating, is a debatable concept. The ever-changing convoluted world can't be a proper reason behind refuting the past's influence to make a present decision.