Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Human society, irrespective of its stage of development, is stuffed with social problems. The primitive society also had problems, and so does the contemporary society, however, the form of social challenges might have varied. Philosophically, the system of law was excogitated to ensure uniformity of justice in society. It is what demarcates the right and wrong and, the laudable and punishable. It is undebated that law has helped to systematize the society, but as it is mainly based on the tenets of fear in the subject that prevents from doing the wrong, the very source of problem, the human psychology (people’s heart and mind), is less affected by it. Therefore, correctly formulated law, based on equity and benevolence, can gradually contribute for the remission of problems; however, the problems having provenance in the human psychology, remains suppressed deep within, which upon outburst reflects the shortcoming of legal system.

Effectiveness of law has its roots on its long term execution and acceptability. In this condition, it gradually works on human behavior, ultimately redressing our wrong activities. Nepal, one of the least developed country, had a deep seated problem of untouchability based on class. Considering it as a taint in modern society, the government passed the law to abolish untouchability few decades ago. Today, the descendants of the patrician family blithely share a drink with the one from previously low class family. This is the emblematic case where the law can assist in changing the human behavior in long term, and eventually bring a social problem to an end.

However, it is also true that, no enforcement can play effectively on our hearts or mind. We have been blessed with free thinking ability; some use it for ingenuity and innovation, while some put it on heinousness activities. Unlike the problems based on superstition and cultural orthodoxy, rape, vandalism, extortion have their origin in ill human mentality. Law tends to suppress these challenges of modern society by causing fear of punishment in the subject. Nevertheless these incidences occur frequently; reflecting the inundation of suppressed wickedness. Rather than legal system other measures like social awareness, increasing people’s participation in creative activities, equality of employment, etc. can palliate these type of problem.

Finally, it can be accepted that law can be efficacious in solving some of the social stigma of modern society. These can mainly appease people by abolishing inequity other problems based on wrong cultural believes. However, the problems based on ill mentality of the very individual human psychology, although can be oppressed by law, can be better subjugated by measures other than legal system.