Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Art is considered as the fuel of the creative mind; the food with which societies flourish and propagate…yet the basic demands of the population has to be the primary concern of nations. The prompt actually advocates for a stronger point whereby they consider that governments should completely suspend funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed. In fact, I agree with the above statement; however, this is conditional based on the context of each nation…This will be proved using the following three reasons.

To begin with, if we discuss highly impoverished states the prompt would be completely justified to consider that it is cruel to use public resources to fund the arts when people’s needs are not met. I believe that in these states the art is even extinct, because people need stability and a certain state of mind in order to produce and apprehend art and music. The problem is more complex than the funding; the intricate issue will lie in the state of the nation which is not stable economically, socially mentally and psychologically. When people’s needs are not met, when they have to strive to survive , they are not in a state of mind to apprehend art, advocate for art or produce art. The governments of these nations are usually stringent as well, will not be advocates of education. For instance, if we shed light on Africa, the notion of survival, the notion of hydration surpasses any other. Yemen is another example of a country who is battling hunger, war and survival and neither its government nor its people are in the mood of art.

Moreover, if we discuss nations that are considered developing countries, yet still have an outlook for art and this is probably what the prompt is attacking. These nations strive for art as an indication of development, of advancement, education and a way of communicating with the world. It is a language that the people of these nations with which they wish to express themselves in countries that are underdeveloped. For instance, in Lebanon, prior to its current economic crisis, it had an art sector even though it is considered a poor nation. The government did not invest huge amount of funds in the arts, yet it maintained a balance to sustain the image of this small country as a cultured cosmopolitan lighthouse in the center of the Middle East. In fact, it was a consensus effort between the government and the private sector to sustain that balance. I believe that it is the will of the people who believe that art is crucial for their survival, their education and their spirit and that food is not merely enough.

Furthermore, in developed countries such as the United States, funds for the arts are a substantial and in each sector across the country. It is the will of the nation to develop that sector, socially mentally and across the nation. Yet still the USA suffers from the worst health care system around the world and has a high number of homeless people all across the country. I think that they are trying to resolve their problems, but by eliminating funds for a crucial sector such as arts this will resolve the problem.

Finally as I said in the introduction that I agree with the prompt that funds should not be wasted when people are hungry and Africa is the best example for that. However, I think that it is contextual and conditional…and to prove my point now Lebanon has moved into its worst economic crisis or ‘demise’ and the arts is definitely not on its agenda now !