Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The claim and the reason provided by author of the issue perfectly resonates with my own thought process and I agree with it. Always between arts and hunger, hunger wins, because standing outside the heritage building and pondering over its byzantine architecture and praising the beauty of medivial engineering, won't fill your stomach. There has always been a debate about, wether arts is important againts every other thing, and often the people who support arts over other things like basic needs, have never experienced poverty.

We cannot expect the government of country like Africa, which is totaly subsumed by poverty, which neither have enough funding to feed the poor nor they have a proper infrastructre for the masses, to invest their GDP in maintaining, an ancestral architecture and historical heritage. The country where people a die of hunger is extremely idiotic to even have a debate about the importance of architecture over the basic needs. Obviously arts is important, it the art by which the country is known it is countrys identity, may it be Pryamids of Egypt or even Taj Mahal of India or another historical heritage of any country.

But giving arts precedence over satisfying of basic needs is not fair and even cruel. Also this doesn't mean that the government should not use any of public funds in maintaining these historical heritage. Suspending the funds as mentioned in the claim will be harsher. Instead the government should come out with the solution or policy, where in it should first allocated the buget for covering basic need and improving infrastructure and then investing the reamaining part of the funds in maintainig for maintain the architectural heritage.