Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which

they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any

certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Immediate application of investigations usually means it is tested and applied in daily applications as soon as possible with adequate accuracy and performance. Some would argue that investigations of researchers should be limited to only those areas which would have immediate practical applications. However many would likely to agree that investigations of researchers should be free with absolutely zero constraints. Although it may appear to some people that outcome of any investigation can easily be calculated and estimated however that is not always the case because the outcome of very investigation could also depends upon the sentiments of various parameters such as environment, global markets and diplomatic issues.

Investigations researchers should be free because free environments among the maverick researchers fosters the pioneering ideas in their brains. Limiting investigations to particular area especially in the areas where researchers explicitly have no interest can deterioration of investigations and final products. It could also cause unexpected delays which would utimately have it's affect on immediate application.

On the other hand it is also important to analyze whether the immediate application of investigations are viable or not. Time provided to investigations for researchers should be sufficient enough so that the investigations of researchers could brought into the use within the time constraint with great accuracy and precision.

In conclusion it is necessary that research should be as free as possible with minimum limits on the areas regardless of immediate and practical applications. This allows maverick researchers to perform on their optimum level and which not only deliver investigation on time but would also deliver it in high quality.