Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

History is always an intriguing subject, clouded in many mysteries that may very well be impossible to solve. Depending on the record-making habits of the studied people, any historical event could range from well-known to nearly unnoticed. Some may argue that creativity is needed to find the correct sequence of events from the limited materials that remain, but this should always remain as speculation instead of solid knowledge.

The knowledge we had about our past is plentiful, perhaps too much for all of us to analyze fully, but it is woefully inadequate in some circumstances where records are scarce. As a rule of thumb, more records remain from closer times, as the quality of records improve over the ages, and the probability of loss similarly decreases. We know a lot about the last few hundred years, as information is recorded in print easily by then, and formal associations such as long-standing libraries protect them well. It can be confidently said that most facts recorded by contemporary individuals in the 20th century is still to be found somewhere. However, as we look back into the far past, these clear recollections quickly become a mist of vague descriptions made by people in societies alien to us in the modern world. Many-times far too little is known about a certain event, and the reconstruction is simply impossible, regardless of imagination.

Of course, creativity can indeed often fill the gaps of an obscure event. Nevertheless, whenever creativity plays a role in the reconstruction of an event, what truly necessitates a discovery is the diligent search of evidence that follows. The speculation created would, if true, affect other parts of history in previously unknown ways, and many pieces of evidence must be gathered before it is considered a probable theory. Without this critical step, the speculation is only fit for a book on the market, instead of acceptable research. Thus it is shown that even though creativity is accepted in academia, it must always be subordinate to the powers of the objective. If the records are broken beyond the bounds of solid logic, it is better to present the pieces of facts as themselves instead of attempting for a made-up story.

All in all, the ability of imagination is welcomed, but not necessary in the development of historical skills. Instead, the excavation of knowledge from the limited known materials is much important for a scholar in this field of study.