Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside

the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to

become truly educated.

It is always a big question mark for universities, whether to make their degree programs more flexible by incorporating multiple different subjects from different fields, or if they should make the program rigid and train students in a single direction. The claim above states that universities should require students to take different courses from outside of their major, this claim is based on the reasoning that having knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated. I strongly agree with this claim, and below

are a few reasons for the same.

Firstly, most fields currently are an amalgamation of different disciplines out of necessity. Most problems nowadays require knowledge of multiple different disciplines in order to tackle

them. Take for example the problems that electronic engineers are trying to solve of minimizing the sizes of transistors. The miniaturization process now has gone to such a small scale that

principles of quantum physics are needed to tackle them, in this case an electronic engineer who is educated only in the principles of electronics would be unable to solve this problem. An exposure to quantum physics is almost a mandatory requirement to tackle such problems. Considering such situations, having students take up an eclectic set of courses from different disciplines would train them to tackle such problems.

Further, the choice of major is an enigma to most young students, but it is one which weighs heavily for the students future. Considering this if students are exposed to multiple different disciplines right at the start of their degree, they would be better able to take decisions regarding which major to pursue, thus allowing them to switch majors if required. Lets say for example that a person with an aptitude in biomedical engineering joins an electrical engineering degree program. Now providing this student access to courses from biomedical science might allow him to realize his true interest in biomedical. Most young students coming out of hight school are not aware of the different avenues they can exlpore at the university level, thus giving them this exposure right in their sophpmore year would allow them to take better decisions.

Of course, some might argue that having students focus on one particular field might allow them to become better at solving problems related to that field. But, in the current world most

problems require multitudes of skills that are often found in different disciplines, and so it would be counterintuitive for students to focus on acquiring a narrow skill set in order to get better at solving problems in their field. A person can be considered truly educated only if he has a diverse set of skills from different disciplines.