Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The main purpose of getting a university education is to be learned, to be educated, that purpose is ultimately defeated when students are only restricted to taking courses within their major. To prevent this, it is advisable that students broaden their knowledge by taking courses outside their field of study. This however comes with a risk of them loosing focus on the basic knowledge requirement of their primary field. As such The claim and the reasoning on which it is based is logical, however, there should be a limit to the number of external course students take.

Students should take courses outside their majors to remove knowledge gaps in their reasoning. In real life knowledge is not compartmentalized, for students to effectively function as members of society, in their chosen career field, they must be capable of applying interdisciplinary reasoning. A pharmaceutical scientist doing research on malaria in a research institution is required to have knowledge in about the infection cycle of the parasite; understand step through which the body is infected and understand the mechanism of action of antimalarial drugs. These require knowledge in physiology, biochemistry and pharmacology, in addition to basic knowledge on research methodology and statistical analysis. This illustrates that they must be broad-minded in their reasoning. This is best achieve if they take courses outside their basic fields.

Taking external courses also improved their ability to reason outside their field and effectively communicate with experts in other career fields. A Financial analyst working in a pharmaceutical industry needs to know the supply chain cycle from acquiring raw materials to selling the finished drugs in the market and how market forces affects laws of demand and supply. This equips him with the knowledge required to make efficiently analyse the finances of the industry diligently make financial recommendations during board managerial meetings. This knowledge is best gotten in university through extracurricular courses and even summer internships to widen perspective and understand how to apply theoretical knowledge in real life.

However, as plausible as these reasoning and claims are, caution must be exerted so that students are not overwhelmed by the onerous workload as a result of extra courses taken. Another risk is that students become distracted and develop more interest in the supplementary courses compared to their course of their majors. Therefore there a limit should be set on the number of courses students are allowed to take; this limit established a healthy balance for the students to that the entire purpose of their education is not defeated.

In conclusion, although, the entire purpose of university is to acquire career knowledge. But to be educated, students need to acquire supplementary knowledge from other fields. This is best achieved by taking courses outside their majors, but there should be a limit to number of extra courses taken. It is through this that students can be certified as “Educated’.