Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning

The author claims that we can usually learn more from people with similar view-points and not the vice versa for the reason that disagreements cause stress and impedes learning. While undue disagreement and discord can indeed be a source of stress hindering gain of knowledge; constructive debates with people from opposing view-points is the very the basis for learning and developments.

At the first instance, the statement appears to have considerable merit. After all, as claimed by a socialist Walter Lippmann, in his book titled ‘Public Opinion’, if people hold different opinions and are unable to persuade each other, this may cause conflicts which may further exacerbate into abhorrence for each other. A mere look on an ongoing political or religious debate on television news channel, where people vociferously try to impose their viewpoints on others by compensating the cogency of their arguments with their high pitches, is enough to understand this point. Moreover, when there is a fundamental difference in the ideologies of the people involved, with neither one willing to budge from his or her standpoint, then there is little scope for learning. For example, a person who appreciates the democratic system of governance can learn little from a staunch and ardent follower of communism. Likewise, a biology student can rarely learn about the process of natural selection from a person whose rigid religious views have no space for Darwinian’s principles in the first place.

However, otherwise, constructive disagreements and discourses with people having contradictory views are fundamental to learn and understand situations from different perspectives and gain knowledge. Listening to guardians and teachers, help young students learn about the importance of regulations imposed on them and the consequences of their irresponsible behaviour; whereas listening to their mentee helps guardians understand the value of children’s privacy and freedom. Likewise in a diverse country like India, discourses between different religious and cultural groups have allowed better understanding of each others’ creed and behaviour paving for religious harmony. Or positive discussions between countries with completely different system of governance, values and priorities promote reconciliation and world peace. The recent diplomacy between Donald Trump and Kim Jung Un that almost averted an inevitable war is a glaring example.

Moreover, discussions among scholars and professionals with contrasting views, where everyone’s opinion is based on his or her background, expertise, and experiences, result in creative solutions and serve for the advancement of knowledge. In physical science, a discourse had been underway between theoretical physicist for last two or three decades about two opposing theories of physics: the wave theory and the quantum theory. The ultimate consequences of the debate is the emergence of a new ‘string theory’ that is more universal and mathematically corroborates with the two contrasting theories mentioned above. Similarly, in healthcare, constructive debates between medical professionals, at times, result in a better line of treatment for a patient or disease. Disagreements between lawmakers give rise to modern laws better reflecting the contemporary values of the society. Legalization of ‘same gender marriage’ in France could be a case in focus.

In conclusion, while undue disagreements can be a source of stress and obstacle in learning, especially when there is a fundamental and rigid difference in ideologies; however, discussions based on reasoning and common ground among rational people with different opinions is the only way for a situation to develop, knowledge to advance and individuals to learn.