Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

To begin, it's true that learning demands from a person much of the exertion of mental capacity. By understanding the fundamental aspects of this process, one may achieve high efficiency in learning. As efficacious learning becomes more and more vital to the well-being of the person, in this contemporary life. The prompt suggests that learning will be more feasible if there will be no contention or diversion in viewpoints about the subject between people, by supporting it with the reason that disagreement causes inconvenience, thus hinders learning. In my not so humble opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

Further, two different opinions on the topic are better than one-sided partisanship. Understanding the complexity of the discussed matter and by acknowledging both sides, one not only broadens his or her knowledge about the subject but also deepens overall comprehension of it. For instance, in the physics field, there is a phenomenon called corpuscular-wave dualism of photons, in the 20th century there was a strong debate between two sides whether the photons corpuscules or waves. Both sides exhibited strong evidence validity of their assumptions. In the end, by acknowledging both theories, Albert Einstien presented his well-known article in 1920, on the above phenomenon intertwining both theories and presented evidence that photons are both corpuscules ad waves at the same time. From the example, it's clearly seen that Einstein would not be able to conclude his assumption, without reference to both sides of the issue.

While one may argue that supporting one's viewpoint in the subject conducive if supported sides presents cogent arguments about the discussion. However, without proper examining both views, and precipitously implementing or resolving issues based on one's evidence may result in pernicious effects. History shows that the use of asbestos is the perfect example in that case. By the mids of the 20th century, asbestos was used in construction, chemical, mining and other industries. It's widespread explained in cheapness and universal qualities of the material. However, nobody didn't assume that asbestos can cause cancer in humans, it has become clear of the deleterious effects of this material only when the first cases showed up. The main point from the example is that the proper understanding of the subject is vital, as it can be seen in the case of the asbestos.

Another strong point is that exhibiting opinions on the subject and getting a validity check of the one's assumption is conducive to learning. As criticizing one's viewpoint, leads to a re-evaluation of the underlying assumption, thus enhancing the critical thinking and logic of constructing the argument. For example, from early childhood, most of the children take the parents opinion as an authoritative statement, without properly examining them. When it comes to school those children who are obsequiously followed parents dictums, often will show not good results in either logic test or critical thinking. On the other hand, children who started to think for themselves as early as possible showed better results.

To conclude, the convenient way of learning mostly depends on the individualistic characteristics of the learner but it's paramount to involve oneself in the discussions and other sorts of disagreement while you're learning the subject for the above reasons.