Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In day to day life, we come across many people with whom we discuss various things right from the daily chores of life to the pressing issues like politics, science etc. While some of them hold a similar view given a topic, others can have quite contrasting belief. The prompt suggests that we learn much more from floks who possess similar views than from those who do not concede to our views for disagreement can engender stress and thwart learning. I disagree with the prompt and feel that we can learn better from the people holding contradictory views than those who are congruous with our views for the following reasons.

To beging with, when we discuss something, be it related to politics, public policies, or as trivial as films with a person, the person will generally either agree or disagree with our views. If the person agrees with our views, it can then be guarranted that we do not have much to learn anything new from the person. This is because when two persons are on the same page, there is no scope of undermining what they believe in. Both the persons will be of the impression that whay they know is irrefutable even if the contrary is true. If anything, their knowledge will be augumented only by paltry amounts as there will not be anything much to debate on and counterparts will only serve to corroborate what each of the person already believes in. Thus, in a discussion where people are congruent about their views, there will not be much scope for learning anything novel.

However, on the contrary, when a person contoverts the beliefs of another person, there is definitely scope for each of the persons to learn from one another. Since the views are challenged and called into question, there will be debate between the people. This process of questioning other beliefs will force the people to introspect on their beliefs and contemplate on the views of the dissenter simultaneously.

In such exchanges, people are coerced to come with novel methods of justifications so as to either correct the course of the opposite person. In this process of rationcinating ones opinion, one can actually better understand what he/she believes in if the person happen to be actually correct or completely alter his/her perpective otherwise. In either of the scenarios, we get to learn a lot more and thus, disagreement serves to enhance ones knowledge.

To recapitulate, discussion between poeple holding similar views does help in learning new things as people in such discussions would just be approving each others credibility. On the other hand, discussions among diagreeing people can help learn new things as their views are called into questions and paves the way for healthy discussion.