Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In my opinion, I mostly agree with the claim in the prompt and argue that taking suggestions from students when planning courses is an effective approach to design a course curriculum.

To begin with, the reason stated in prompt holds strong validity that interest in a field of study is one of the major driving forces that motivates a student to learn. In fact, there are well established studies that illustrate passion or interest to make an individual achieve success. For instance, Steve Jobs has said in many interviews that his interest in computers and programming has made him a successful person to revolutionize the technology industry. In a similar fashion, interested students in a certain subject will be able to achieve more success than those students not interested in the course. Thus, interests of students is an important factor to be accounted for when educators design courses.

Further, if the educators take the suggestions of students while designing a course, a bigger holistic image can be achieved by the educators. With this bigger picture, the weaknesses and strengths of the courses can be weighed accordingly to take decisions to further the design of the courses. For example, if a history course is being planned, which lacks the inclusion of African American history. The students, if they are of diverse culture, will most likely ask the educators to add some notable black history revolutions in the course. This suggestion will significantly improve the quality of the history course. Thus, a broad picture is attained after looking at the suggestions for a course plan from students.

In contrast, some may argue that the students are not intelligent enough to take part in the designing of courses. After all, a student does not like hard materials in a course, which tend to usually lower a student’s grade. However, the educators know that this hard material will be certainly beneficial for the students to have competent skills for their careers. In such scenarios, taking inputs from students is not an effective approach to design a course. Thus, the totality of factors should be observed when students are involved to participate in designing courses. Some of these factors include student’s main motives to propose a certain topic in a course, interests of students, etc.

In conclusion, interest is one of the main factors that greatly help students achieve better learning. Additionally, if students are allowed to give suggestions, the strengths and weaknesses of the proposed plan for a course can be seen. However, some students are not intellectual enough for course planning suggestions as their main motives are to make the course easier. This may jeopardize the integrity of the courses and such scenarios should be handled professionally.