Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Boredom arises when we are trapped something that we find meaningless, when we get less interested in a matter that we originally are passionate about, or when we stop moving forward in a situation. The claim concluding boredom as a source of embarrassment due to its linkage with lack of imagination and self-motivation goes way too far in generalizing the emotion. While in some cases boredom might be a result of self-satisfaction, there are many other reasons leading to boredom. It would be too extreme to completely blame the person with the emotion, as external factors contribute significantly as well.

To start with, it is undeniably true that boredom may be caused by a lack of self-motivation of an individual. Consider a middle-aged man who is bored about his daily routine of going to work as a white collar every day. He works from 9 to 5, goes home for dinner, watches television, and goes to bed every day. The emotion of boredom arises due to this monotonous living pattern. However, whether or not his life is boring completely depends on his will to modify how he live his life. He can go out with his friends after work, or pick up a hobby during the weekends, or even join voluntary activities to add meaning to his daily routine. The illusion of our lives stop moving forward, in these cases, is completely due to a lack of self-motivation to make things going.

However, not all feelings of boredom can be eliminated by looking inwards; sometimes external factors make us feel bored. It must be acknowledge that we as humans, cannot control every situation we face in life, and in many times, we can be trapped in unhealthy environments, causing boredom. For example, we may feel bored living in a city where the culture is monotonous, and environment not as desirable as we imagined. Take the city of Hong Kong as an example – air pollution is serious, people do not communicate with each other on street except looking into their phones, cars honk everywhere they go – it is hard to not feel bored and tired of our everyday routines when the external environment is unforgiving. Some may say that we can still find interesting things happening in a city no matter what, if a person has the imagination. Yet, it is a lot harder to feel the beat given these circumstances, and we should not blame the individual if he/she feels bored in this case.

Lastly, it is completely normal for boredom to arise as time goes by, in the case when our interest in a matter or an activity slowly deteriorates with time. There is always a limitation in the variety that an activity can generate, no matter how creative we are. For instance, in ballet, no matter how many variations of the same pose that a dancer can create, there are limitations on the music and styles that he/she can recreate. It would not be an embarrassing act for her to switch her focus from ballet to perhaps jazz or hip hop, or even to pick up another hobby for her own interests. Boredom arises when the possibilities are used up, and things start to repeat itself. It is a completely normal phenomenon, and we should not blame ourselves for feeling bored because of that.

In conclusion, there are many reasons leading to the emotion of boredom, and we cannot conclude that it should be a source of embarrassment in general just because of a single reason.