College and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

The statement above enforces students to be sent away to a country unfamiliar to them in order to obtain their degree. This requirement poses several problems to not only students but their families as well--such problems include: family obligations, work obligations, and health priorities. These can all limit the students ability to travel to foreign grounds. Although studying abroad opens the door to many opportunities, requiring students to be shipped off like a simple package is not only unethical but impractical.

Enforcing students to study hundreds, if not thousands, of miles away from their homes poses a major problem. There are many cases where full time students are needed at home to help maintain, run, and operate daily living. Whether it be caring for a sick family member, or baby sitting younger siblings, students have priorities aside from school and many of these priorities cannot be held off for the duration of a semester.

The statement above seems to ignore the fact that a majority of full time students are working as a means to support themselves. Not every parent or guardian can afford to support their child while at college--forcing students to tackle classes and work simultaneously. By requiring students to leave for months at a time, they are being subject to unemployment which to some, is not negotiable.

There are many instances where people cannot travel due to health-related concerns. Some individuals have an intense fear of flying that can bring about anxiety attacks. Some people may need to have weekly visits to a clinic in order to maintain their health, such as those on dialysis. The statement above fails to acknowledge these types of situations adding to its unethical nature.

Although traveling and studying abroad is a great opportunity that can bring about new experiences, requiring students to do so as a means to obtain their desired degree is unethical and fails to recognize the issues it poses.