College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Most college students opt for a job in their particular field after they finish their studies. But, it is going too far to say that field of study they choose must be decided on the basis of jobs available in that field.

One of the most important factors in getting a job is an individual's skill set. As the competition in today's day and age is very high, securing a good job not only requires you to have the best knowledge in your field, but also soft skills like leadership, time management and so on. If an individual has the necessary qualities, then no one can stop him or her in getting a job in the field of his interest. Moreover, interest in a particular field is what makes you passionate about what you do. For instance, if a student is interested in math, he should pursue a college degree in mathematics even though the field has a scarcity in jobs available because his interest will provide him the necessary courage to find a job in times when jobs are limited.

The number of jobs available in various fields is always variable. Sometimes, it depends on the country in which you live. For example, if an individual living in Vietnam loves pet animals and decides to become a vet, then he has more scope of getting a decent job in countries such as Netherlands, New Zealand and so on rather than his own country. The same example is applicable in various other fields like engineering, architecture and so on. Also, if there are many cases in which the number of jobs available goes up and down in a cyclic fashion. The most common example is in the airline industry. About two years ago, many new airline pilots were jobless, however the situation changed recently and most of them have jobs. If two years ago, they had decided that they should not pursue their dream, then they would have surely sulked their decision in the future.

In some exceptional cases, if the individual from an underprivileged household and has interest in a field like art which most of the countries don't provide support for, then it will be wise enough to choose a field which can provide a good job so that the individual can survive with his family. Although, there are many examples in history where in people have taken risks and pursued their interests. For example, Dhoni, the captain of Indian cricket team was from a middle class household but still he pursued his interest and was able to have a successful career in cricket.

All in all, selecting a field in which a student has interest will always provide the necessary passion and drive in getting jobs and being successful in them, even if the jobs are limited.