College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The statement states that college students should base their choice of study on the availability of jobs in that field. This statement is not totally correct because this would lead the students to put away all their talents and personal interests and play safe in order to have a better pay and a stable life. I would like to point out that I totally disagree with the statement and provide with few reasoning which I feel would be plausible to explain my position.

Choosing an area of interest based on availability of jobs in that field is not a very good way to start your career. The high school education introduces us to the different fields in a brief manner. The high schools should have the responsibility of assessing the students to know their strengths and weaknesses and guide them towards taking the right step for their higher education. Students should also try to explore different areas and consolidate their interests to pursue in the future rather than studying just for jobs.

Apart from choosing the field and graduating, when students get placed, they have to love the work they do. Without loving the work I don't think there will be an interest in doing the work. All this will lead to 4 or 5 years of wasting time and money. If students have passion and love for the work they are doing, they experience different challenging situations that can help boost their confidence and gives them the opportunity to explore the different sides of the problem and hence the area.

Finally, choosing a job based on self-interest is good. There is a possibility of finding something ground-breaking in the field. Passionate enough, students can try to bring in different fields together to solve real world problems. This will impact the society in a good way and set an example for the future generations to come. If students have a good idea, money and resources, they can create a start-up, work hard and succeed in the development of the product and create jobs for those who are passionate about creating some products that impact the world in a better way.